Council Press Releases

September 22, 2023

Council Announces 2009-2010 Board of Directors

Council Announces 2009-2010 Board of Directors

NASHVILLE – The Nashville Health Care Council announced the appointment of its 2009-2010 Board of Directors and newly-appointed Chairman Joey A. Jacobs, chairman, president and CEO of Psychiatric Solutions.

Jacobs succeeds Thomas G. Cigarran, chairman, Healthways, Inc., who served as 2008-2009 and 2003-2004 Council chairman, and who remains on the board as a director. Serving as vice chairman is Ben R. Leedle Jr., CEO, Healthways.


“The Health Care Council makes a significant contribution to the growth and development of Nashville’s dynamic health care community,” Jacobs said. “I look forward to working with other health care leaders to further enhance opportunities for existing and start-up companies, to increase our support for future generations of health care leaders and entrepreneurs, and to raise Nashville’s visibility as the nation’s health care industry capital.”


Two new members joined the board on July 1 for three-year terms. They are Jeffrey R. Balser, M.D., Ph.D., vice chancellor for Health Affairs at Vanderbilt Medical Center and Christopher A. Holden, president and CEO of AmSurg.


The following board members were re-elected to serve three-year terms on the board: Samuel E. Lynch, D.M.D., D.M.Sc. president and CEO, BioMimetic Therapeutics and William Carpenter, president and CEO, LifePoint Hospitals.

In addition, Bo Bartholomew, president and CEO of PharmMD and chairman of the Council’s Leadership Health Care group was appointed to serve a one-year term along with eight new board members representing health care companies and professional services groups that support the industry.  They are Michael Boroch, business development executive, IBM; John A. Deane, CEO, Southwind Health Partners; James Elrod, managing director, Vestar Capital Partners; Ronald Kimzey, partner, Ford & Harrison; Kevin P. Lavender, senior vice president and managing director, Fifth Third Bank; Linda Marzialo, president and CEO, Gould Turner Group; Doug Rohleder, partner, Ernst & Young; and Leigh Walton, member, Bass, Berry & Sims.

“We are honored to have Joey Jacobs assume the chairmanship of the Council,” added Council President Caroline Young.  “He is a recognized leader in the health care industry.  Additionally, the new members joining the board bring a wealth of health care experience and innovation to the organization, and we are pleased to have their support and participation as the Council enters its fifteenth year.”


About the Nashville Health Care Council
Founded in 1995 as an affiliate of the Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce, the Nashville Health Care Council is an association of 167 member organizations working together to further establish Nashville’s position as the nation’s health care industry capital. For more information, please visit the Council’s web site at

2009-2010 Nashville Health Care Council Board of Directors

Chairman – Joey A. Jacobs, Chairman, President & CEO, Psychiatric Solutions


Vice Chairman- Ben R. Leedle, Jr., CEO, Healthways

Jeffrey R. Balser, M.D., Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs, Vanderbilt Medical Center


Bo Bartholomew (Chair, Leadership Health Care), President & CEO, PharmMD

Michael Boroch, Business Development Executive, IBM

Richard M. Bracken, President & CEO, HCA

Gary A. Brukardt, Chairman & CEO, Specialty Care Services Group

Victor L. Campbell, Senior Vice President, HCA

William Carpenter, President & CEO, LifePoint Hospitals

Thomas G. Cigarran (Immediate Past Chair), Chairman, Healthways
Reginald W. Coopwood, M.D., FACS, CEO, Metropolitan Nashville Hospital Authority
John A. Deane, CEO, Southwind Health Partners

James Elrod, Managing Director, Vestar Capital Partners

Richard E. Francis, Jr., Chairman & CEO, Symbion

Herbert A. Fritch, Chairman & CEO, HealthSpring

Vicky B. Gregg, President & CEO, BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee
Christopher A. Holden, President & CEO, AmSurg
A.J. Kazimi, President & CEO, Cumberland PharmaceuticalS
Ronald R. Kimzey, Partner, Ford & Harrison

Jim Lackey, Chairman, Passport Health Communications

Kevin P. Lavender, Senior Vice President & Managing Director, Fifth Third Bancorp

Samuel E. Lynch, D.M.D., D.M.Sc., President & CEO, BioMimetic Therapeutics

Linda Marzialo, President & CEO, Gould Turner Group
Keith Pitts, Vice Chairman, Vanguard Health SystemS
Doug Rohleder, Partner, Ernst & Young
C. Brian Shipp, CEO Southeast Region, AMERIGROUP
Wayne T. SmiTh, Chairman, President & CEO, Community Health Systems
Leigh Walton, Member, Bass, Berry & Sims

Ex Officio
James W. Bradford, Dean, Owen Graduate School of Management, Vanderbilt UniversitY
William C. O’Neil, Jr., Director, Healthways


Ralph J. Schulz, Jr., President & CEO, Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce

Caroline YounG, President, Nashville Health Care Council

Past Chairmen

Jack O. Bovender, Jr., Chairman, HCA

James E. Dalton, Chairman, Signature Health Corporation

Thomas F. Frist, Jr., M.D., Co-Founder & Chairman Emeritus, HCA

Joseph C. Hutts, CEO, BreatheAmerica

Harry R. Jacobson, M.D., Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs Emeritus, Vanderbilt Medical Center

Ken Melkus, Senior Advisor, Welsh Carson Anderson & Stowe

Martin S. Rash, Chairman & CEO, RegionalCare Hospital Partners

H. Rusty Siebert, Chairman & CEO, Winchase Gulf Coast Properties

Back to News

Purpose Statement

We exist to strengthen and elevate Nashville as the Healthcare City.

View Purpose