All News

September 22, 2023

Health Care Council announces 2016 Fellows class

Health Care Council announces 2016 Fellows class

Emily Kubis | Nashville Post

Fourth class features 30 members, to focus on varied curriculum 

The Nashville Health Care Council announced the 2016 class of its Fellows program Monday, the fourth class of the professional organization.

The 2016 curriculum will focus on consumerism, disruptive technology, integrated delivery, reimbursement shifts, population health management and globalization.

“Fellows is a venture that could only take place here in Nashville, a $73 billion health care hub, where we have immediate access to the industry’s founders as well as a host of respected health care experts, innovators and academic institutions,” Hayley Hovious, Council president, said in a release. “When you consider the unmatched reach and diversity of our health care community, there’s no question why this is the place to hold these important conversations and inspire the advancements that will reshape our business.”

Members of the program engage in a two-day retreat and eight full-day sessions exploring the health care system’s challenges and developing solutions.

“As these new market drivers emerge, Fellows offers an opportunity to think differently about how we can create a better system,” Larry Van Horn, Fellows co-director and professor with Vanderbilt University’s Owen Graduate School of Management. “As we design the future of American health care, the leaders who come together through Fellows will be those who ultimately decide the direction of the country’s health care industry.”

The 30 members of the 2016 Fellows class are:

•Tim Bewley, First Vice President, SunTrust Bank
•Hamilton Bowman, COO, EnableComp
•Barbara Brennan, COO and Chief Nursing Officer, Alive Hospice
•Denise Burke, Partner, Waller
•Chip Chambers, M.D., Senior Medical Director, Cigna-HealthSpring
•Sam Chang, M.D., Professor of Urologic Surgery, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
•Mike Coggin, Senior Vice President and Chief Accounting Officer, LifePoint Health
•Jana Dreyzehner, M.D., Behavioral Health Medical Director, Amerigroup TN
•Mike Duffy, President, Hospital Solutions and Global Supply Chain, Cardinal Health
•Aaron Gani, Enterprise Vice President – Innovation, Humana
•Vic Gatto, CEO, Jumpstart Foundry
•Aron Goldfeld, Vice President, Advocacy and Regulatory Affairs, TeamHealth
•Tammy Hawes, CEO and Founder, Virsys12
•Shannon Hooper, Senior Vice President and Practice Leader, ReviveHealth
•Eric Keen, General Partner, Council Capital
•Daniel Lieber, COO, Altegra Health
•Brian Marger, COO, TriStar Centennial Medical Center
•Ricardo Martinez, M.D., Chief Medical Officer, North Highland Worldwide
•John McClellan, Vice President – Operations, Division 5, Community Health Systems
•Michele Molden, Senior Vice President and Partner, The Advisory Board Company
•Neal Patel, M.D., Chief Medical Informatics Officer, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
•Amy Rock, Senior Director, Regulatory and Scientific Affairs, Cumberland Pharmaceuticals
•Matthew Russell, Chief Technology Officer, Digital Reasoning
•A. Dexter Samuels, Ph.D., Senior Vice President and Executive Director, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation for Health Policy, Meharry Medical College
•Mark Thompson, Vice President, Operations Finance, Healthways
•Mike Uchrin, CEO, Health Choice
•Marc Watkins, M.D., Vice President and Corporate Medical Director, The Little Clinic
•Morgan Wills, M.D., President and CEO, Siloam Family Health Center
•Dakasha Winton, Director, Associate General Counsel State Government Relations, BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee
•Chris Wyatt, CFO – HCA Information Technology and Services, HCA

Back to News

Purpose Statement

We exist to strengthen and elevate Nashville as the Healthcare City.

View Purpose