In an effort to capture the accomplishments of innumerable leaders and entrepreneurs behind Nashville’s health care industry renown, Belmont University and the McWhorter Society (named for former HCA and LifeTrust exec Clayton McWhorter) form the Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame. The initiative is supported by the Nashville Health Care Council.

The inaugural class includes:

-Dr. Thomas F. Frist, Jr.: Co-founder of HCA
-Dr. Thomas F. Frist, Sr. (1910 – 1998): Co-founder of HCA
-Dr. Ernest William Goodpasture (1886 – 1960): Dean of the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
-Jack C. Massey (1904 – 1990): Co-founder of HCA
-Clayton McWhorter: Founder of HealthTrust and Clayton Associates; former Chairman and CEO of HCA
-Dr. David Satcher: 16th Surgeon General of the United States; former president of Meharry Medical College
-Dr. Mildred T. Stahlman: founder of the world’s first neonatal intensive care unit at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
-Danny Thomas (1912 – 1991), founder of St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital